Embarking on the big wide world of data…

My name’s Nabeelah, and I’ve been a data animation junkie for some time now. It started small – the odd BBC video that set out the statistics on voting rights better than any piece of narrative news, or explained the changing state of ethnicity in the U.S using teepees and ships with little flags sailing across the ocean. But before long I was hooked. It was the little flags that did it. Damn them.

My gateway drug opened up a world of people playing with data and using it to create brilliant, thought provoking, and often contestable stories. It became clear that data could yield endless information – to those who know how to source, interpret, handle, and present it.

So, I’ve decided at last to have a go at playing around myself, starting with the very first baby steps. Wish me luck. Here goes.

Via @sarahpilchick

Leave a Reply

